#%$&%^*

Evidently, I’ve been stressed of late. Never have I been so regular about posting! Well, I suppose the only way to move is forward, and the best way to do that is simply to indulge myself and purge my worries.

I’ll start with my email being hacked this morning. Not sure how it happened yet, but I’m trying to take steps to make sure that it doesn’t happen again, at the expense of my own convenience. Thankfully, this is probably cleared up now. I suppose I wouldn’t complain if someone sent me a few thousand pounds, anyway…

I hardly really want to write about the thing that’s weighing on my mind the most right now, but I know that if I want a decent amount of sleep before the lengthy weekend ahead of me, I must.

J**** B****** IS A BITCH.

Ahhh…much better.

Well, perhaps not. It all started when I was running the center while my boss was away. She came in, complaining that her son wasn’t doing multiplication yet, and wanted him to start. She had already sent my boss two emails, the second threatening to leave. I tried to reassure her with the information that my boss had left me for her–her son would move up to the next level by the end of the month–two weeks away. She was not completely satisfied with that, but I told her there was not much that I could do as my boss was away for two weeks. I offered to make sure that her son could at least do multiplication flashcards. With that, she left. Four days later, they were back in again. She complained that one of her sons (or both, I don’t remember) didn’t get their reading homework. Acknowledging to myself that it was quite possible that I had made a mistake, I apologized. She went on to complain that she was paying for both subjects, and I wholeheartedly agreed with her. She, however, was on a roll. Despite my reassurances, she cut me off with an abrupt “When is [your boss] coming back?” Though taken aback, I tried to assume that she didn’t mean to be rude and simply answered her. After she left, my coworker approached me and asked if she was trying to diss me by asking when our boss would be back. I tried to shrug it off, though honestly my feelings were rather hurt.

The following Thursday, she came in complaining that her sons were not in long enough. I had already made sure that they had all their work, and I asked them if they had done it. They said yes. She was not satisfied, once again. I asked my coworker, who said with certainty that they had. Next Monday, she was back in again, telling me that she could not wait a week for her son to do multiplication. I tried telling her again that there was nothing I could do within the franchise rules. I tried looking for ways to work it out for her, but I really couldn’t devise anything. She asked again when my boss would be back, and left in a huff.  My boss was back that Wednesday, and somehow managed to work it so that her sons could take tests to pass to the next level. She wrote them a very polite email, and Mrs. B***** finally seemed satisfied. For about a week.

Which brings us to yesterday, Wednesday. She had apparently called. My boss took the call, but mistook her for another parent calling to say that they would come in that day instead of Thursday. Expecting the other parent, we were surprised when her sons came walking in a day early. My boss and I asked them to wait a couple minutes while we got their work ready for them. Mrs. B***** came walking in after them. With only good intentions, I advised her to call before coming in early. When she told me she did, I was surprised and asked her boys to wait just a second. I asked my boss, who realized her mistake. I asked the boys if they had their work that we had assigned for the day, but they had already done it. This complicated matters further, but eventually we got it worked out. Later, when they were ready to leave, Mrs. B***** came in, apparently complaining to my boss about payment. My boss had given her a printout of what was due, as she was $100 short. Mrs. B***** protested, not understanding what was on the sheet. When my boss tried to clarify, Mrs. B****** kept saying that it was annoying, and yet again threatened not to keep coming to Kumon.

Later that day, she sent my boss an email essentially insulting the both of us and the center as a whole. She claimed that I had copped an attitude with her, and that the center was very disorganized while my boss was away–and that she was not the only one who thought so. She went on to claim that I had tried to stop the boys from coming in that day, and that my boss and I had treated her like she was an idiot. So on and so forth. It appears to me that she is extremely over sensitive, felt that she was an idiot on Wednesday, and decided to take out her insecurities on us.

To be fair, I do hope that this is not really the case, and this is all merely due to circumstance–a strange chain of misunderstandings and mistakes. On some counts, I can understand her being upset, however, not to the unreasonable extent that she became so. I wish that when problems arose that I could actually assist her with or rectify, she would have said something. For example, if they boys were missing pages, she or they could have alerted us later so that we could leave it out for them–if not at the center itself. However, I do take responsibility for that, simply because I do not know what actually happened to those worksheets. There really isn’t anything else here that I truly feel responsible for, though. I’ll take the fall for my boss misunderstanding who was on the phone–it was probably because of my suggestion that another family would call that she made the mistake. However, J***** consistently tried to bully me into bending franchise rules that I was not qualified to bend. She misrepresented my attempts at helping, reassuring, and assisting as “attitude.” (When my boss told me that she said I had copped an attitude, I laughed with disbelief. I am a remarkably patient person, and no matter how much any parent has tried my nerves, I have never raised my voice or said anything rude to them). Perhaps the center was a bit more disorganized than usual on my watch–I was doing the work of two people, one of which is much older and more experienced and trained than I am. Perhaps I didn’t hang over their shoulders as much as I should have, or something. I’m not sure. If someone was being rude or copping an attitude there, though, it was not me.

Aaaaallll of that said…her sons are very sweet, and I’ll be sorry if she decides to punish them for her own mistake. The son who she made such a fuss about really ought not have gone to the next level, he was well placed. His multiplication will not be up to par if he (she) does not allow the time to learn addition. She also wrote in the email that the our teaching method was one she could get behind. My ass. This whole thing was about her trying to cheat the system. That never ends well for the student when a parent tries to take advantage of our good rates and manipulate them to try to get different benefits. Her continuous threats to leave didn’t help either–it just gives us less of an incentive to bend over backwards for her if she’s going to be gone the next day. Nevertheless, we are still doing our best for her. Her most recent email basically stated that she was not sure if they’d come the next scheduled day, but we have pulled for them anyway. I will greet all of them with a smile if they do, as I have for the past three weeks. I’ll take this moment to note that I have never taken any of this out on her sons–nor will I. Everyone at the center knows that kids really can’t help the parents they’ve got. And they do work hard. I can only assume that they have a very mellow father.

~ by madamespider on August 6, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
